

Minutes of the Meeting of Bruton and Cary Deanery Synod held at The Davis Hall, West Camel on Thursday 18th July 2024 at 7.30pm

Present:

Revd Tristram Rae Smith Acting Area Dean

Dr Rob Sage Lay Dean

Mrs Jane Jeanes Deputy Lay Dean

Other Members of House of Clergy 2 Other Members of House of Laity 18

Revd Jill Perrett Deanery Accompanier

Other PTO Clergy 1
Other Readers 2
Other Guests 2

Apologies for absence were received from: Nick Armstrong, David Baldwin, Tim Chater, Helen Corney, John Deverell, John Dyer, Camilla Graham, Susan Hartnell-Beavis, Jane Jones, Christopher Maltin, Lynda Payne, Martin Roberts, Anne Sear, Jane Stebbings, Revd Rona Stuart-Bourne and Lee Tibbatts.

- 1. **Opening Worship** was led by representatives from Cam Vale and took the form of worship from Iona with a reading from Matthew 11 and the hymn "Great is thy faithfulness".
- 2. **Previous Minutes.** The Minutes of the meeting held on Tuesday 16th April 2024 were approved as a correct record after clarifying that the appointment of an interim minister in a House for Duty post in the Six Pilgrims would be for a period of three years renewable for a further three years.
- 3. Diocesan Synod Elections. The Lay Dean reported that four nominations had been received for the four places in the House of Clergy on Diocesan Synod and therefore the Revd Helen Drever, Revd Jonathan Evans, Revd Elisabeth Isted and the Revd Rona Stuart-Bourne had been elected unopposed. He also reported that four nominations had been received for the five places in the House of Laity on Diocesan Synod and therefore Tim Chater (Batcombe), Maureen Ellis (Pen Selwood), Jane Jeanes (Henstridge) and Rob Sage (Evercreech) had been elected unopposed. This left one space in the House of Laity which could be filled as a casual vacancy by the House of Laity in Deanery Synod. One nomination had been received from Christopher Maltin (Horsington) and as there were no further nominations, Christopher Maltin was duly elected to the remaining space on Diocesan Synod.

The Lay Dean reported that there was a volunteer willing to take on the role of Deanery Treasurer. This was David Baldwin the Treasurer of Castle Cary and Ansford PCC. David Baldwin's co-option onto Deanery Synod was proposed by the Lay Dean, seconded by Revd Elisabeth Isted and agreed. There being no other nominations David was then elected Deanery Treasurer.

4. Common Fund Proposal (Benefice Share). Revds Jonathan Evans and Elisabeth Isted gave a presentation with slides on the new Benefice Share which would replace the Parish Share system and which had been approved by a large majority at Diocesan Synod the previous week. The Benefice Share would be based on three elements. The first was cost of the stipendiary clergy in the benefice (currently £55,500 for a full-time stipendiary priest). The second was a proportion of the costs of the support provided by Diocesan staff based on the number of regular worshippers in the benefice and initially estimated at £140 per worshipper. The third element was a mutuality and generosity contribution to provide support for the most deprived parishes in the Diocese and to multi-parish benefices with a low population density. This contribution was initially set at 15.25% of the combined total of the first two elements.

As a result of the change some benefices would be paying significantly more and some significantly less and so there would be a five-year transition period when changes would be limited to 20% each year. The Diocesan Office would suggest how the Benefice Share would be allocated between the

parishes in the benefice. It was noted that some benefices in the Deanery would be facing significant increases. Where benefices were unable to pay their Benefice Share, the Diocese would provide help with increasing giving and with mission to grow churches. If the benefice was still not able to pay its Share there would be discussions about the deployment of stipendiary clergy. It was noted that this might have an impact on the current Deanery Plan for pastoral reorganisation. [The slides used in the presentation can be downloaded from the Deanery website www.brutonandcarydeanery.net/deanery-synod

- **5. Refreshments.** Thank you to Jane Jeanes and to those from Castle Cary and Ansford who served refreshments.
- 6. Environmental Concerns and the Church. Dan Wills the Diocesan Net Zero Enabler gave a presentation on environmental concerns and the church. Given the previous discussion, Dan pointed out that he was funded by a national church grant and not the Parish Share. Dan noted that the Church of England had committed to net zero carbon emissions by 2030. There were issues with oil or gas heating in terms of efficiency, cost and emissions. Dan suggested heating the congregation rather than the building and looked at alternatives such as heated pew cushions, under pew heating, infrared heating, air source heat pumps, ground source heat pumps and solar panels. Different systems were appropriate for different churches and it could be that a gas or oil boiler was the most suitable for your church. Dan encouraged churches to apply for an Eco church award and noted that there were two bronze and two silver award Eco churches in the Deanery. Dan also stated that maintaining the church building would help reduce emissions as would using a green tariff for electricity.
- 7. Acting Area Dean's Notices. The Revd Tristram Rae Smith noted that he was retiring in August and was thankful for the opportunity as Acting Area Dean to have met so many people who had a heart for their local church. He stated that the Revd Caroline Walker would be licensed as the interim minister for Cam Vale on August 1st and would be commissioned as Area Dean at the same service.
 - Tristram also noted the Diocesan Day of Prayer on Saturday September 7th and the date of the next Synod Thursday 17th October.
- 8. Closing Prayers were led by Revd Tristram Rae Smith.

Next Deanery Synod Meeting – Thursday 17th October 2024.